AICA Ireland

The International Association of Art Critics – Ireland (AICA Ireland) is the Irish section of the International Association of Art Critics (AICA) founded in 1948/1949 in Paris. Ireland has been an active member of AICA International from its foundation. The Irish membership includes leading critics, essayists, and theoreticians, as well as honorary life members.

AICA Ireland promotes professional practice and exchange among the professionals who work in the area of critical discourse, stimulating research and reflection within the visual arts, education and culture.

AICA members are issued a membership card updated with a yearly stamp, which is recognized for entrance to museums and art events around the world. They are informed of relevant international members activities in the weekly AICA Ireland Newsletter, the bi-yearly AICA International Newsletter and are invited to the Annual AICA International Congress, held in a different nation each year.

AICA Ireland meets on a quarterly basis in a Dublin city centre location, with an annual general meeting of members every January. Elected officers of the National Executive operate on a voluntary basis. The current Irish National Executive consists of:

  • President – Noel Kelly
  • Secretary – Gemma Tipton
  • Treasurer – Alan Phelan

AICA Ireland has recognised the significant contribution of certain members to critical discussion within Irish Art. Current honorary members include:

  • Ciarán Bennett
  • Jackie Stanley

Past Presidents

  • Ciaran Bennett
  • Peter Fitzgerald
  • Caoimhin Mac Giolla Leith
  • Campbell Bruce (Deceased)
  • Dorothy Walker (Deceased)
  • James Johnson Sweeney (Deceased)